Tags

, , , ,

Men and women are different.  Men have this insane ability to eat everything within a 2 mile radius and not gain weight.  I just have to look at what Nathan is eating and I gain 2 pounds.  Okay…so that’s an exaggeration, but you get the idea.  Men burn calories faster.  So, quite often I will make Nathan some kind of meaty, calorific man food (while trying to sneak in some vegetables so he’ll be around longer) and I eat a salad.  The problem is, sometimes his man food looks really good and although I love my salads, I want some of that calorific tastiness.  See my dilemma?

IMG_1635

That is precisely what happened yesterday, when I cooked him this pasta.  This pasta is so easy to make.  Which is perfect, because I don’t want man food to take up all my time and then not have time to make my salad (or do I?)

There were a lot of pre-prepared elements that helped with this pasta – I tend to buy courgettes when they’re on offer, grate them and freeze them to make my current favourite cake (Courgette and Lime, I will post it next time I make it), to throw into pastas or to make courgette pancakes (oh, another thing I haven’t posted yet).  Don’t have any courgettes?  Use frozen peas, or maybe wilt some spinach in.  I already had some leftover cooked bacon so that went in too, although it would be easy to fry up with the onions and garlic if you had none precooked.  To save time, I often cook pasta in bulk, rinse it to de-starch it and then store it in the fridge.

Creamy Courgette Pasta (serves 2 man sized portions)

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 5 slices of smoked back bacon (or smoked rashers as we call them in Ireland)
  •  6 cloves garlic (finely chopped)
  • 1 small red onion (finely chopped)
  • 1 whole courgette, grated (if using from frozen, make sure to squeeze some of the excess water out through a sieve)
  • 1 tub (200ml) sour cream
  • 3 Tbsp milk
  • 3 1/2 cups cooked pasta (I used wholewheat fusilli)
  • Salt and pepper to season
  • Optional extras to serve – squeeze of lemon juice, dash of chilli flakes and/ or a grating of parmesan cheese on top for extra manliness! Grrr cheese!

METHOD:

  1. If you’re using pre cooked pasta from the fridge, leave it out of the fridge to warm up a bit.  Make sure your courgette is defrosted too!
  2. On a medium high heat, fry the rashers in the olive oil.  When they begin to brown, add the onion and garlic (both finely diced) and continue to fry, stirring often, until the onions become translucent and both garlic and onions begin to brown.
  3. Add courgette for an additional 2 minutes or until softened.
  4. Reduce to a low heat and add the sour cream and milk.  Stir until mixed.
  5. Add pasta and continue to stir until heated through.
  6. Season with salt and pepper and add optional extras.

Conversation after dinner:

Nathan: That was nice dear, but I think it had too much courgette.

Me: Sigh of exasperation!

Enjoy!

Jenna x

P.S. I totally had 3 spoonfuls of this pasta!

