So I might have gall stones.  Sorry about that…you come looking for something delightfully delicious and I give you gallstones…gross jagged balls of cholesterol.  I’ve been referring to the pain, which I’ve now been experiencing  for two and a half weeks, as a tiny green alien playing with a yo yo inside me.  Sounds cuter than gall stones, but just as sinister.  Well, this tiny green alien means that I have to cut fat out of my diet for two weeks (and possibly longer).

My diet is by no means super fatty.  I balance my cakes, chocolate and ice-cream with salads, veg and lean meats, but the minute I heard I had to give up fats…they were suddenly irresistible.  It was like the little green alien had some magical compass pointing me to butter and sugar.

So, in between waves of pain (movement makes the green alien angry), I managed to whip up these little beauties.  I was sore, but I went to bed happy and full of sugar…without the butter.

I had already made these chewy oat bars before, but I managed to decrease the unhealthy fats and sugar in them even more, by using flaxseed (which appeases the green alien beast) as a binding agent.

These are not buttery, but they are still scrumptious and taste healthy enough to have for breakfast, while still giving me my sweet treat fix.  Most importantly, I do not feel like I’m compromising when I eat these.

Ignore the fact that I left them in a couple of minutes to long and they burnt around the edges...awkward laugh.

Ignore the fact that I left them in a couple of minutes too long and they burnt around the edges…awkward laugh.

Sweet dried fruit! Hooray!

Sweet dried fruit! Hooray!

This is your syrup like consistency.

This is your syrup like consistency (see recipe below).

Fruity chewy oat squares (makes 16 squares)

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup finely chopped dried fruit (I have found a combo of slightly more dried apricots, and equal amounts of dates and sultanas works best.  The apricots and dates are especially good for moisture and sweetness).
  • 1 cup apple juice
  • 1 Tbsp milled flaxseed
  • 2 1/2 Tbsp honey
  • 3 1/2 Tbsp  crunchy peanut butter (I used an all natural kind with no added sugar or salt)
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup dessicated coconut

METHOD:

  1. Preheat oven to 180C or 375F and grease an 8 x 8 inch square pan.
  2. Add fruit, apple juice and flaxseed to the pan.  Bring to a boil and simmer for 3-4 minutes, or until liquid forms a syrup like consistency.  At the same time you can toast your coconut by spreading it out on a dry tray and placing it in the oven for about 3 minutes or until golden.
  3. Turn off heat to your pan of fruit and stir in peanut butter and honey to melt and mix.
  4. Stir in cinnamon, oats and coconut.
  5. Spoon evenly into the greased square pan.
  6. Bake for 20-25 mins or until golden on top.
  7. Remove from the oven and leave to cool.  Then cut them up and enjoy!

NOTE:

Since writing this post on Saturday and before I got to publish it today, I had a scan done which showed I do not have gallstones! Yaaaay!  Pity I lost my niche as a gallbladder diet blogger though :p

Photographic evidence that it was in fact Mr. Piggy Spatula who ate the missing flapjack and not me...I have way too much time on my hands in the summer.

Photographic evidence that it was in fact Mr. Piggy Spatula who ate the missing flapjack and not me…I have way too much time on my hands in the summer.

