Tags

, , , , , , ,

At the moment, I’m helping out at a sports camp at our church.  The camp is on in the primary school beside my house which makes it very easy for me to nip home for a speedy lunch.  I’m heading to another camp next week, so I’m trying to use up all of the vegetables that I know Nathan (my husband) won’t use next week.   It’s also really sunny today so I wanted something light but filling enough to keep me going for the afternoon camp.

I settled on these avocado sliders.  The grilled courgettes supply a warm base for the cool guacamole and the contrast between the crunch from the courgettes and melt-in-your-mouth smoothness of the guacamole create a winning combination.  Here’s the recipe.

Image

AVOCADO SLIDERS

Ingredients (serves 1)

  • 1 courgette
  • 1 avocado
  • 1/2 tomato
  • 1/4 tsp garlic
  • 2 slices red onion
  • squeeze of lemon juice
  • salt to taste
  • sprinkle of grated cheese
  • pinch of smoked paprika
  • 2 tsps sour cream (optional)

Image

Method:

  1. Slice the courgette lengthways and grill two slices on a medium high heat for about 2 minutes.  Each side should be fully cooked through but still crunchy.  Alternatively, you can use a griddle pan to get those great lines on your courgette.
  2. Meanwhile, mash the avocado with a fork.  You don’t want the guacamole to be completely smooth.  It’s nice when it’s a bit chunky.
  3. Deseed and finely chop the tomato and add it to the avocado.
  4. Finely chop the red onion and add it also.
  5. Season with a squeeze of lemon juice, the garlic and some salt.
  6. Pile the guacamole on top of the sliced courgette.  Sprinkle the cheese on top and the paprika.
  7. Take a picture to post on your blog…oh wait, that’s just me!

Variations

  • Add some sour cream and salsa on top.
  • Sprinkle some sweetcorn on top.

Enjoy!

Jenna x

