Tags

,

What is ‘a jiffy’?  Now that I’m ‘a lady of leisure’ living in Galway surburbia baking my way through life, I’m on a bit of a 50’s vibe.  I have a polka dot apron, I have cravings for milkshakes and Eddie Rocket’s (50’s style diner), Nathan used super glue yesterday (this may seem random but apparently super glue was invented in the 1950’s) and I bought a hula hoop.  Okay, so I’m lying about this last one.  I once had a hula hoop and as much as I tried to hula hoop my hardest I couldn’t; so, now hula hoops create feelings of resentment, failure and shame in me.

Now that I’ve got that off my chest, I can get on with this bread recipe.  This bread is moist.  The raisins make it sweet enough to indulge on, drizzled with lemon curd or smothered in jam, yet it’s savoury enough to enjoy dipped in a hearty soup.  It is a multi-purpose bread…like a multi-purpose cleaner but edible.  Oh, and it’s low fat.  Win!!!

Homemade Bread

Ingredients:

  • 330g wholemeal flour
  • 120g porridge oats
  • 40g raisins
  • 50g chopped walnuts
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 250ml water
  • 250ml milk (semi-skimmed or full fat)

Method:

  1. Mix the flour, oats, raisins, walnuts, baking powder, salt and sugar in a bowl.
  2. Mix the water with the milk in a separate jug and stir into the dry mixture.  The mixture should have a porridge-like consistency.
  3. Grease a 2 pound loaf tin (900g) and pour the mixture into the tin, levelling it with a spoon.
  4. Place in a cold oven at 120 degrees celsius and leave for 35 mins.  Then, increase heat to 180 degrees and cook for a further 45-50 mins.
  5. Take bread out of the oven.  The loaf should have separated from the sides of the tin and should be removed quite easily.  Tap the bottom of the bread.  If it sounds hollow then the bread is done, if not stick it back in the oven for another 5-15 mins.
  6. Allow bread to cool before serving as it will continue to cook a little bit more once out of the oven.
Variations:
Smother this bread in PB, jam, cheese, chutney, butter, leftover cake icing (not that I did that or anything…cough).
Replace the raisins with cranberries and eat with Wensleydale cheese on top.
Infuse the bread with herbs and other bits…I like thyme and lemon zest basil and sundried tomatoes or olives and garlic.
 
Enjoy!
 
Jenna x
